Dealing With Bipolar Depression   Leave a comment

My name is Matthew…and I have bipolar disorder.

There, I said it; wasn’t so hard…if only my bipolar were this easy to talk about…if – like me- you’ve ever suffered from bipolar depression – as I have for several years now – it can almost feel like you’re on two different worlds; when you’re in the midst of a manic high, you feel as though you cannot stop moving or going…you’re constantly going, your mind’s racing, you can’t sleep, and on and on and on…

When you’re in the midst of a depressive low, however, it can seem like – as it has for me over the years – absolute hell on earth. You sleep all the time, you have constant thoughts of hopelessness and sadness, you cry inexplicably, you lash out at the world for no reason, you have panic attacks where you literally feel as though you’re crawling out of your skin…there’ve even been occasional times – and it’s hard for me to say this – there have been times where I’ve wanted to kill myself, that’s how bad it got at times.

As I once said to my nephew, Chris, a few years ago after being diagnosed as bipolar, its’ akin to walking through a minefield where each step you take could – mentally speaking – blow up right in your face; what has helped me in my struggles with bipolar disorder is that I’ve been able to take one of my manic streaks – the tendency to talk and talk and talk and so on – and use it to my advantage in that, whenever I’m talking to my therapist or my general practitioner, I’m able to describe what I’m feeling, what I’m going through…but there have been times, especially before I was diagnosed, where I’ve wanted to scream at the world and say, “I NEED HELP!” and yet, until I hit rock bottom in my life, no one would listen or no one would pay attention to what was going on…

Put simply, bipolar disorder is a roller-coaster that I wouldn’t wish on anyone.

Consider this an open thread…

Leave a Reply

The Dubious Goals Committee

We are just kicking our heels until the next ‘dubious goal’ is scored...

It Is What It Is

Dr. Rex .... Blogging for change.

Life Petaled with Love

Life has its shadows but LOVE prevails

Chitra's Healthy Kitchen

Recipes for healthy living

Amber Danette

Freedom for All Cetaceans, Peace for Animals, Namaste

Tienny

* The Storyteller * Conceptual Artist * Character Designer * Illustrator * Animator * Inker *

In Saner Thought

"It is the duty of every man, as far as his ability extends, to detect and expose delusion and error"..Thomas Paine

Staycation Atlanta

Fun things to do in Atlanta, GA

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

LGBT HealthLink, The Network for Health Equity

Proud Program of CenterLink: The Community of LGBT Centers

ProFootballTalk

ProFootballTalk on NBCSports.com

Life Is Color

By Strawberryindigo

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

The Story of a Guy

Just a journey through the eyes of a guy

Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

A how to for everyone and anyone

Romantic Beauty

Romance Never Goes Out Of Style

FiveThirtyEight

Nate Silver’s FiveThirtyEight uses statistical analysis — hard numbers — to tell compelling stories about politics, sports, science, economics and culture.

